Direct Care Aide · Inspiration · relationships

5 Ways to Ensure Your Sanity As  a Caregiver 

1. Know Your Purpose
Caregiving isn’t for the faint at heart. This is a path that takes a lot of discipline, patience, forgiveness, and lots of love.


2
. Know Your Parent
Some parents are easy going and some are very difficult to understand. Heads will clash, feelings will get hurt, and regret may start to creep in your heart. Remember, they were used to depending on themselves and all of a sudden they have to depend on someone else, things can get a little confusing until you reach a common ground ensuring you have their best interest. Take a breather, try and understand why they act and feel the way they do. Talk it out.


3. Brace Yourself for Gossip

Trust me, if you are NOT doing something right; even if you are, you will be talked about. You try your best and the next thing you know, one of your siblings is telling you what mom or dad said behind your back. Now, parents can seem convincing! Give your family heads up. Let them know  what’s going on.


4. Emotional Ups and Downs

Caregivers need care too! You are going to feel alone, overwhelmed, overworked, and tired. You will cry when by yourself, pray, scream, whatever you do to relieve stress. Don’t let care giving get the best of you. It all goes back to #1, Know Your Purpose. Pray and ask God for strength. Be grateful to have a parent to take care of, think positive thoughts. I know what you are going through. As a caregiver myself, I understand that depression can set in, lack of taking care of yourself, and illnesses can rob you of things once hoped for. I’m here to tell you, rough it out. In the end it will be well worth it. You will be rewarded!


5. Take Time for Yourself

This is not an easy task. If you have family, hold a meeting to discuss a schedule on giving you a much desired break. If you don’t have family, see if there is a senior daycare in your area or recruit a friend you know you can trust; someone that understands your parents ways and emotional ups and downs.

When I look back at the career I gave up, I wonder if being a caregiver is worth it. I want to give up at times, but my heart tells me to keep on keeping on. I’ve been lied on on, talked about, feelings hurt, and so on and so forth. 
To be honest with you, when I started caring for my mom, a couple of my siblings called me around midnight to tell me I was weak and timid. Ouch!

But you know what, I have an outlet. Every 6 months to a year, I enroll in online classes to enhance and grow my knowledge in social media marketing, and elderly care. I have certifications in both social media marketing as as a professional and geriatric care. Not only that, my husband and I have date nights. In order to keep my sanity, I have to get out and let my hair down.

How do you keep your sanity?
What’s your outlet?
Talk to me.

Leave a Reply

